on the road

This book has been sitting on my desk for years. It is one of those cool things where you fantasize as a concept, but never really bother to get to the bottom of the spirit by, say, swallowing a thick and linguistically not-your-cup-of-tea book. I don’t even remember I have this book until I was wandering around North Beach in San Francisco last year and “re-discovered” City Lights – THE place where it all began. And then I decided I have to read it after I got home.

In today’s term Sal and Dean are two irresponsible bastards who sleep with whoever they can get their hands on (and for Dean then leaves the kids behind), down all the booze they can afford and have no real achievements in life. But in a fictional world – or maybe not so fictional coz we all know the book is much based on the adventures of Jack Kerouac and Neal Cassady – all these reckless moves become synonym for coolness. I think I have read this book too late – I have passed the phase where I would fantasize this “coolness” and now when I read it, all I see is the responsibility they failed to fulfill as sons, fathers, lovers, friends etc. This is not romantic. This is beat – this is rotten. The part that moves me the most is towards the end of their Mexico trip – I found comfort when Dean is settling down; and Sal returns to New Jersey and watches the long long skies, thinking about Dean.

But that doesn’t say I don’t adore those road trips, though I also believe those wild days will never come back as long as there is a phone, an Internet cable or a TV around. You can never be too far away from home anymore. And to me that’s what make this book even more precious today – noone can ever relive the lifestyle anymore, though that desire to run still burns in our hearts. Oh, and Dean Moriarty – what a beautiful name…

About iamjam

2009 年1月19日晚,我在灣仔會展一邊看《An Evening With David Byrne》一邊打SMS,驚覺"COCK"與"ANAL"原來屬同一個T9碼。 這是一個SIGN:可能我真的要開個BLOG了。
This entry was posted in cult cult dei and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to on the road

  1. hk loyal reader says:

    see that’s why i dun find Up in the Air ‘s Ryan cool….while many people will defend him saying he just has his own way to face lonliness

    ha! he chose it lor!

    • iamjam says:

      not everyone wants to believe it but some ppl just think loneliness is not a big thing, they dun even feel lonely if they dun know what it is at the first place. so yea i would agree he has his own way to face lonliness but that doesnt makes him cool and wont change the fact that it isnt a good movie to watch for me. nth too speical from the script the shooting nor the acting :P

Leave a Reply

