“You met me at a very strange time in my life”


This is the last line in the film. There are plenty of handy quotes in the film perfectly inscribing our times and lives and I was so busy reading those but didn’t pay attention to this simple line for the two times I saw it. (For the second time I was just busily stunned by how The Pixies’ Where is My Mind fit into that ending so perfectly.) It must be mind-blowing for the infused Tyler Durden (infused as in the narrator and the imaginary alter-ego combined, considering Durden is suffering from split personality) to see all those corrupted establishments falling apart in front of his eyes but those rubbles won’t shake away the hidden awkwardness in him – he doesn’t even realize he is the one behind the plot until the final moment. That was indeed a very strange time in his life. 

And he bumped into Marla during this period of turbulence. Does Marla play any significant role emotionally in this period? Not really. Was Marla special? I don’t think so. Are they in love? I doubt. But, that is a very strange time in his life and Marla happens to be standing right beside him (who also happens to have the habit of deceiving comfort from support groups – that’s a bonus I admit. I actually wondered if Marla is imaginary as well.). Everyone has a strange time once in a while, some last longer than the others. How gratifying it is when one is fucked up, the other is standing next to him/her and then the fucked up one says, “You met me at a very strange time in my life”, as if that’s a compliment to their relationship? 

Some say Fight Club is ultimately a love story. Now I start to get it. 

About iamjam

2009 年1月19日晚,我在灣仔會展一邊看《An Evening With David Byrne》一邊打SMS,驚覺"COCK"與"ANAL"原來屬同一個T9碼。 這是一個SIGN:可能我真的要開個BLOG了。
This entry was posted in sight and sound, totally random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

